Video | Interview | Report | 21 December 2022

Australia / UK Cultural Leadership Dialogue 2022

Photo of CLD in Scottish Parliament

A new bilateral initiative with partners Australia Council for the Arts, Australian High Commission London, British Council, Scottish Parliament and University of Melbourne

In August and October 2022, the Edinburgh International Culture Summit presented a new bilateral initiative in partnership with the Australia Council for the Arts, the Australian High Commission, London, British Council, Scottish Parliament, and the University of Melbourne.

This Cultural Leadership Dialogue was presented as part of the Australian government and British Council’s extensive and ambitious season of cultural exchange in 2021 and 2022, with twin events hosted at the Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh on 29 August 2022 and the University of Melbourne on 6 & 7 October 2022.

The Australia  UK Cultural Leadership Dialogue brought together key cultural practitioners with extensive experience of working in both countries, alongside parliamentarians representing the governments of Australia and the devolved nations of the United Kingdom; together representing a unique opportunity to rethink cultural policy for our mutual benefit and offer practical suggestions that enable us to better share and maximise the resources of our respective cultural sectors.

Australia | UK Cultural Leadership Dialogue Report


Australia | UK Cultural Leadership Dialogue Brochure

UK | Australia  Cultural Leadership Dialogue Brochure



  1. Robyn Archer AO
  2. Tony Ayres, Executive Producer, Tony Ayres Productions
  3. Kate Champion, Artistic Director,  Black Swan State Theatre Company of Western Australia
  4. Delia Falconer, Author
  5. Kate Fielding, Chief Executive Officer & Rupert Myer, Chair, A New Approach (ANA)
  6. Julia Hales, Actor
  7. Brenna Hobson, Executive Director, National Theatre of Scotland 
  8. Tamsin Hong, Assistant Curator, International Art (Performance), Tate
  9. Dr Beatriz Garcia, Senior Research Fellow, Cultural Policy & Mega Events, University of Liverpool
  10. Professor, Dr Marcia Langton AO, Associate Provost; Foundation Chair, Australian Indigenous Studies, University of Melbourne
  11. Professor Margo Neale, Head, Centre for Indigenous Knowledges & Principal Advisor, National Museum of Australia
  12. Fran Sanderson, Director of Arts Programmes and Investments, Nesta
  13. Professor Gaye Sculthorpe, Professor of Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies, Deakin University
  14. Tea Uglow,Independent Creative Director, Google Creative Lab

No Man’s Land, a profile of UK/Australian artist/writer Paul Carter

Presented in Partnership with

Logos of all partners involved

Recent Stories